Greek Mythology Unit: Websites

Websites

• Use the website/s to explore the basics of your mythological being or other figures that impact your being
• Take notes with proper in-text citations (Author or section title) 

Citing Research with Websites

• When you begin your research with websites, create a citation for your resource in NoodleTools 

Need Help? 

Check out the videos on this site or ask your librarian or teacher.

Website Resources

These websites have been selected just for you. Meaning: ONLY USE THESE WEBSITES. There is to be no search engine action happening.

• Greek Mythology Link
  •  a collection of the Greek myths written by Carlos Parada, author of the book Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology.  Parada is a former lecturer at the Department of Classics, Lund University (Sweden). Most of his work in recent years has been dedicated to the creation and improvement of the Greek Mythology Link, an Internet site devoted to the Greek myths and related subjects.  This is source is well respected by the scholarly community.
• Encyclopedia Mythica
  • an online encyclopedia covering folklore, mythology, and religion. This encyclopedia was founded in June 1995 as a small site with about 300 entries, and established with its own domain name in March 1996. As of May 2021, it features more than 11000 articles. 
• God Checker: Your Guide to the Gods
  • Database of Gods from around the globe.  Includes detailed Greek Gods section.  Created in 1999 by Chas Saunders and Peter J. Allen, authors of the book The Book of the Gods: 600 Gods from 20 Pantheons Explained.  
• World History Encyclopedia
  • founded in 2009 by Jan van der Crabben, today the World History Encyclopedia has grown from a small history site to one of the largest and most popular history encyclopedias on the internet.  The site is a nonprofit, endorsed by numerous universities.  Authors of entries are listed and all entries are reviewed.
• ThoughtCo.
  • a compilation of articles, most by N.S. Gill, a teacher of Latin and ancient history. Includes detailed and accessible articles about a variety of mythological beings.
• Theoi
  • a comprehensive website dedicated to Greek Mythology and representations of mythological figures in ancient Greek art and literature created by Aaron J. Atsma with help from the libraries of the University of Aukland and Leiden University in the Netherlands

How do I cite a Website or a webpage in Noodletools?