McLean High School Library: English 10 Honors: Things Fall Apart: Research Resources

Topics & Resources

Topics & Resources For Today

Group Slides for Today

Topics

Additional Resources

Chinua Achebe

Guiding Question: What can we learn about the author's life? How might his experiences inform the text?

Geography & Climate

Guiding Question: What are the major geographic and climate regions in Nigeria?

Rivers
Topography
Mountains
Deserts
Savannahs
Natural Resources
Is it landlocked?

Maps:

Nigeria Topography Map

Nigeria: Agriculture and Diet

Guiding Question: How do the geographic regions of Nigeria affect the agriculture sector and the diet for Nigerians?

Crops
Animal Husbandry
Popular dishes

Maps:

Igbo (Ibo) Culture

Guiding Question: How would you describe the social organization (include gender roles), cultural norms & beliefs, rituals, festivals, etc. of the Igo?

E-Books:

Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students

Colonialism in Africa/British Colonialism in Africa/Nigeria

Guiding Question: How did British control affect traditional tribal society?

Databases

Database Passwords

Culture Grams (ProQuest)
Resources on world's countries and peoples
World Geography (ABC-CLIO)
- This link opens in a new window
Focus on: geographic politica lsocial economic and cultural forces in our globalized world.
World History in Context (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the moststudied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) *
- This link opens in a new window
History from the Renaissance to today. Good first stop to build background knowledge.
Biography in Context (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to presentday newsmakers.
Literature Resource Center - LRC (Gale)
ind uptodate biographical information, overviews, fulltext literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to where available.

EBooks

Gale eBooks
GVRL is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Also includes professional literature for teachers and staff.
Salem Press Research (ebooks)
Check out the Countries, Peoples & Cultures (database + book)

Images

Britannica Image Quest
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights cleared images for student use. Excellent source for images for student projects. Wide range of topics from historical to present day.