McLean High School Library: 11 Honors: Research Exploration: Research Resources

Project Slides

Research Tip

Research Tip:

Take time to do background reading to develop your overall understanding of your subject, before attempting to digest the scholarly sources. Without that basic understanding of the subject, the scholarship will go over your head. Some background reading may come from general or reference sources, and may not be a good fit for your annotated bibliography, but will ground you in your topic.

Databases

Strong Databases to Begin

Issues and Controversies
helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot-button topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Includes in-depth pro/con articles that present both sides of an issue without bias.
Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Covers wide variety of topics in the global issues.
Gale in Context: High School (Gale)
Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with fulltext magazines academic journals news articles primary source documents images Media (Audio and Video)s audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a userfriendly portal experience.

Science Databases

Science Databases

Access Science
High quality science database with a variety of sources, ranging from reference to scholarly. Also includes audio and video resources.
Science in Context (Gale)
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Shows how scientific disciplines relate to realworld issues, from weather patterns to obesity
Environmental Studies (Gale)
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.

News Databases

News Databases

Proquest Central Student
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
OneFile News (Gale)
The database offers a onestop source for fulltext current news and searchable archives.

EBooks

Gale eBooks
GVRL is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Also includes professional literature for teachers and staff.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes: eBooks encyclopedias and specialized reference books