McLean High School Library: English 10H: Satire: Research Resources

Opposing Viewpoints

Strong Databases to Begin

The following two databases are on issues and they breakdown the issue into two-ish sides. This is a GREAT place to begin! There are tons of resources on both that really breakdown the issue and give multiple perspectives on what is happening and what solutions are in play.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Resource covering todays hottest social issuesfrom capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana.
SIRS Issues Researcher‎ (ProQuest)
An editorially curated pro/con database that meets the research needs of students and educators by providing premium content correlated to key curricular standards and subjects.

Current Issues Databases

Continuing the Research Databases

In this section are current event databases and below this section are Science specific databases.

Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Covers wide variety of topics in the global issues.
ABC-CLIO Portal
- This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple ABCCLIO databases. Good place for background information and starting research. Includes: Articles Media (Audio and Videos) Photographs and Art eBooks
Gale in Context: High School (Gale)
Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with fulltext magazines academic journals news articles primary source documents images Media (Audio and Video)s audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a userfriendly portal experience.
Polling the Nation (Infobase)
- This link opens in a new window

Science Databases

Science Databases

Access Science
- This link opens in a new window
High quality science database with a variety of sources, ranging from reference to scholarly. Also includes audio and video resources.
Science in Context (Gale)
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Shows how scientific disciplines relate to realworld issues, from weather patterns to obesity
Environmental Studies (Gale)
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.

Database Information

Databases: You will need this if you are not on a school-issued device and/or at home if you need to continue your research there.

Databases: A-Z

Database Passwords

Research Tips

Research Tips:

Take time to do background reading to develop your overall understanding of your subject, before attempting to digest the scholarly sources. Even if you do not use the source as a research source, understand terms before diving in to the deep stuff.

Before reading an entire article and finding out that it is terrible for your research purposes, read the first and last paragraphs. Are they solid for what you need? Great, read it all. Possibly good for your purposes? Save the link and read later if there is a need or time. It doesn't fit your needs at all? Don't waste the reading time.

Save all links as you read. Be organized in your notetaking. Use your in-text citations wisely.

Think about search terms! Teens vs Teenager vs High School vs Adolescents may all garner different results. Keep a list of what language you are using to search!

EBooks

Gale eBooks
GVRL is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Also includes professional literature for teachers and staff.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Includes: eBooks encyclopedias and specialized reference books

News Databases

News Databases

Proquest Central
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
OneFile News (Gale)
The database offers a onestop source for fulltext current news and searchable archives.