McLean High School Library: AP Human Geography-Statehood: Research Resources

Movement for Self-Determination

Databases

Database Passwords

World Geography & Culture Online
continuously updated with fresh statistics and other content on countries around the globe. Covers subjects of geography, people and culture, weather and climate, history, government, and society.
United States Geography (ABC-CLIO)
Better understand the geographic, historic, social, political, cultural, and economic landscape of the United States.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Covers wide variety of topics in the global issues.
World History in Context (Gale)
Covers the moststudied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.
Gale eBooks
GVRL is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Also includes professional literature for teachers and staff.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes: eBooks encyclopedias and specialized reference books
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) *
History from the Renaissance to today. Good first stop to build background knowledge.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO)

Cultures and Societies

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Gale Database: E-Book

Culture Grams (ProQuest)
Resources on world's countries and peoples
Gale in Context: High School (Gale)
Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with fulltext magazines academic journals news articles primary source documents images Media (Audio and Video)s audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a userfriendly portal experience.

Potential Search Terms

Self-determination

Independence movement

Separatist movement

Sovereignty

Home rule

Secession / Secessionist movement

Nationalism / Nationalist movement

Devolution

Sovereign state

Self-autonomy

Statehood

Nation-building

Autonomy

*REMINDERS*

If you are using a phrase, use quotation marks

Use advanced search when possible

Check your date range when necessary

Use multiple search boxes, i.e. a phrase above + the state or movement

Current Events

Databases

Database Passwords

Proquest Central Student
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

In ProQuest Central:

Use "Advanced Search"

AND/OR

Specifically look up the source, "International Newstream"

Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Covers wide variety of topics in the global issues.

When doing a search, make sure to adjust your date ranges for recent results

Polling the Nation (Infobase)
Polling the Nations provides current and historic surveys from the most respected polling organizations in the world. Aggregated from more than 1,000 sources and featuring 750,000+ poll questions, Polling the Nations brings together thousands of polls going back more than a third of a century.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO)

Maps

World Geography (ABC-CLIO)
Focus on: geographic politica lsocial economic and cultural forces in our globalized world.

U. of Texas: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (Website)

Countries, Peoples, & Cultures (Salem Press Database)

CIA World Factbook → select country → select Geography (Website)

Library of Congress General Map Collection (Website)

Encyclopedia of Global Resources (Salem Press Database)

Religious Conflicts around the World Maps - Websites:

Religious Conflicts Around the World (Interactive)

Religious Landscape Mapping in Conflict-Affected States

Images

Britannica Image Quest
Millions of rights cleared images for student use. Excellent source for images for student projects. Wide range of topics from historical to present day.

Use databases whenever possible - the Creative Commons work has been done for you!

*Still cite all images*

AP Human Geography-Statehood: Research Resources

AP Human Geography:

UN Simulation - Statehood

Research Resources

Movement for Self-Determination

Databases

Database Passwords

Cultures and Societies

Potential Search Terms

Current Events

Databases

Database Passwords

Maps

Images

Images