McLean High School Library: AP Gov: Founding Fathers: Research Resources

Today's Research Skills

Today's Research Skills:

-Evaluating sources based on: Primary vs. Secondary Sources

-Identifies: Point of view & potential biases

-Identifying research needs and holes in findings-- What else is needed?

NoodleTools

Keep Track of your sources with Noodletools!

Contact a Librarian

Lisa Koch

Websites

Websites on Founding Fathers

Founders Online (National Archive) **Best Bet for Primary Sources

Meet the Framers **START HERE

Center for the Study of the American Constitution:

Daughters of the American Revolution

History, Art & Architecture of the House of Representatives: Continental and Confederation Congresses

Constitution Center Signers Biographies

Founder's Library: Historical Documents

Library of Congress Digital Collections (search for specific author)

Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789

Yale Law School's Avalon Project: The American Constitution - A Documentary Record. The list includes early state constitutions, local charters and bills of rights, constitutional debates, and ratification documents.

The Founders' Constitution, an online book from the University of Chicago, is an invaluable source of information about the political philosophies of the drafters of the Constitution. It gives links to multiple historical documents relevant to the drafting and interpretation of each article, clause and amendment.

State Archival Collections Online

Digital State Library & Archival Collections

Connecticut

Delaware

Georgia

Maryland

Massachusetts

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

North Carolina

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Virginia

Websites on Current Events

State Department Policy Issues

Pew Research Center

Gallup Most Important Problem

Reuters: Constitutional Law

Current Issues Resources

Databases with Current Issues

Database Passwords

Polling the Nation (Infobase)
Polling the Nations provides current and historic surveys from the most respected polling organizations in the world. Aggregated from more than 1,000 sources and featuring 750,000+ poll questions, Polling the Nations brings together thousands of polls going back more than a third of a century.
Proquest Central Student
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

Loom Video: How to search ProQuest

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Resource covering todays hottest social issuesfrom capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana.
Issues and Controversies
helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot-button topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Includes in-depth pro/con articles that present both sides of an issue without bias.

Images

Finding Images for Your Presentation:

Need a refresher on how to responsibly find images for school assignments (hint: not grabbing them from a google image search)? Check out this tutorial for more guidance.

Britannica Image Quest
Millions of rights cleared images for student use. Excellent source for images for student projects. Wide range of topics from historical to present day.

AP Gov: Founding Fathers: Research Resources

Founding Fathers Research Project

Research Resources

Today's Research Skills

Today's Research Skills:

-Evaluating sources based on: Primary vs. Secondary Sources

-Identifies: Point of view & potential biases

-Identifying research needs and holes in findings-- What else is needed?

NoodleTools

Keep Track of your sources with Noodletools!

Contact a Librarian

Websites

Websites on Founding Fathers

Founders Online (National Archive) **Best Bet for Primary Sources

Meet the Framers **START HERE

Center for the Study of the American Constitution:

Documentary History of the Ratification of the American Constitution--digitized reference set. Find your state and look through presented secondary information and primary sources. **Best Bet for Primary Sources

Ratification at a Glance **START HERE

Daughters of the American Revolution

Library of Congress Digital Collections (search for specific author)

Yale Law School's Avalon Project: The American Constitution - A Documentary Record. The list includes early state constitutions, local charters and bills of rights, constitutional debates, and ratification documents.

State Archival Collections Online

Digital State Library & Archival Collections

Connecticut

Delaware

Georgia

Maryland

Massachusetts

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

North Carolina

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Virginia

Websites on Current Events

Current Issues Resources

Databases with Current Issues

Images

Finding Images for Your Presentation:

Need a refresher on how to responsibly find images for school assignments (hint: not grabbing them from a google image search)? Check out this tutorial for more guidance.